Should parents watch degrassi to understand their kids better?

Degrassi is a T.V show mostly aimed at teenagers. The show is essentially based on teen drama. Every few years a new version of Degrassi is released with a new generation of teenagers. I grew up watching Degrassi Next Generation: Complete Series (Seasons 1-10)and adored the teenage drama. In a way it made me believe high school would be like that. Looking back now, I’m glad my high school life was no where near that. 

Recently Degrassi was picked up by Netflix and the drama continues. Even as an adult I enjoy watching it. I binged watched 3 seasons in 3 days. Its funny to see how teenagers have changed and the technology they use has evolved greatly. Nevertheless, the drama remains. Teenagers would be teenagers. Yet I had to ask myself, “should parents watch this to understand their kids better?” Of course the show would no accurately describe each and every teenager, but would it give parents SOME kind of insight into what their kids deal with on a daily basis? 

Would parents finally see their teenagers as more than just “going through a phase?” Would they realize that kids are just trying to fit in? would they find new ways to deal with peer pressure, bullying, and the influences of social media? Would looking at Degrassi aid in bridging the generation gap that exist and help parents have  better understanding of their kids?

Many teenagers feel as though adults simply don’t understand their generation, their obsession with social media and their need to constantly interact with their friends and share every detail of their lives. Even I am guilty of not understanding such things and I’ve just left the teenage years. So how can older adults that grew up in a time of different lifestyles and values understand this? 
Can looking at how teenagers interact with each other at school and on social media help this? 

Given this thought I also had to ask myself, “should parents be given better information on how the younger society operates? Should they be given information that would help them better understand their kids? And should they be given information on how to help their kids, such as understanding the signs of kids that need help and the proper way to approach them without making them feel as though you are accusing them and thus further push them away?”

3 thoughts on “Should parents watch degrassi to understand their kids better?

Add yours

  1. Interesting question. I loved Degrassi, too! Although the newer seasons are no where near as good as the original cast (my opinion). But I think parents just need to listen to their kids, and understand they are going through phases and uncertainty. I’m in my twenties and I still struggle to figure it all out. I don’t think we need to watch a TV series to have a better understanding. I know it’s not exactly easy to talk to kids, but growing up– especially through our teenage years we tend to experiment and experience a handful of things. High school will always be dramatic. Always. Girls in high school are always competing with each other and this puts a lot of pressure on girls. Boys are also in competition with other boys in regard to who hits puberty first. Lol. It’s just the stages of life

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s true it seems as though they aren’t as dramatic as I remembered.. that’s true just talking to your kids help but some kids are so secretive having a show that’s portraying the issues of that time period can be a good insight for some parents who need to catch up on what’s going on:) thank you for ur comment I appreciate it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

